Garmin Forerunner 245 – Essayé et testé

** Cityryde.com is an independent team that writes reviews and buyers’ guides. We support the hours that go into our reviews and testing through affiliate commissions. If you're thinking about buying these products, please use the links on this page - purchases made through links in this article really help us. These don't affect the outcome of our reviews or selection of gear. Thank you!

Last Updated on juin 7, 2022

Dès que Garmin a dévoilé le Vivoactive 3 il y a près de deux ans, je me suis demandé comment ils remplaceraient précisément le Forerunner 235. Le Vivoactive 3 était meilleur en termes de fonctionnalités de suivi, même si le FR 235 comportait plus de boutons que le Vivoactive 3.

En conséquence, le look traditionnel et volumineux du Forerunner 235 a disparu au moment de sa sortie. La réponse de Garmin à la prochaine édition est-elle la même ? Non, ils ont décidé de le rendre plus simple et de fonctionner plus rapidement pour des décisions d’entraînement plus intelligentes.

Garmin Forerunner 245 est essentiellement un Forerunner 235 avec quelques fonctionnalités supplémentaires du Fenix 5. N’oubliez pas la version Garmin Forerunner 245 Music.

La meilleure partie est que la batterie dure désormais deux fois plus longtemps que le modèle précédent lorsque le GPS est activé. La petite taille de cette smartwatch est-elle un compromis pour ses nombreuses fonctionnalités ? Examinons cela plus avant.

Conception, affichage et confort de la Forerunner 245

Les gens n’achèteront pas Garmin Forerunner 245 Music comme extension de leur smartphone ou comme accessoire de mode, car il n’a pas été créé à ces fins.

En ce qui concerne le suivi précis de la condition physique, le Garmin Forerunner 245 est un excellent choix pour les personnes qui font de l’exercice régulièrement mais qui ne visent pas à être la prochaine Paula Radcliffe.

En conséquence, il n’est pas extrêmement perceptible au poignet, mais sa construction en plastique lui donne également l’air d’etre bon marché. Il ne pèse que 38,5 g et a un diamètre de 30,4 mm, ce qui est plus petit que la gamme Fenix de la société.

En raison de son profil mince et de sa sangle de fréquence cardiaque compatible, le Forerunner 245 est un plaisir absolu à porter pendant tout type d’activité physique. Vous n’avez même pas l’impression de le porter.

Porter une montre-bracelet pendant une séance de yoga est, à mon avis, la mesure ultime de son niveau de confort. Vous savez que votre gadget est confortable si vous pouvez confortablement faire l’équilibre sur les mains et vous pencher en arrière pendant une heure de vinyasa sans avoir besoin de l’enlever.

Un grand bravo pour le confort du Forerunner 245, que j’ai testé lors de deux séances de yoga et en dormant quatre nuits de suite avec.

Peut-être parce qu’il est plus petit et plus léger dans l’ensemble, le Garmin Forerunner 245 semble être plus fin que son prédécesseur. Cet appareil léger est passé d’un boîtier de 45 mm à un boîtier de 42,3 mm, une différence que seuls les utilisateurs de Forerunner 235 remarqueraient.

C’est une bonne taille pour surveiller vos progrès d’entraînement et votre forme de course. Il a toujours la même disposition des boutons physiques Garmin.

L’absence d’écran tactile dans cette zone est volontaire. Non seulement il fonctionne mieux dans l’eau, mais il préserve également la durée de vie de la batterie, ce qui est essentiel pour de nombreuses activités intenses. Si vous êtes un utilisateur débutant des appareils Garmin, vous allez prendre un certain temps pour s’habituer à cette disposition des boutons, mais tout sera clair en très peu de temps.

Garmin a amélioré la résolution d’écran du Forerunner 245 : de la résolution 215 x 180 du Forerunner 235 à une résolution 240 x 240, ce qui ajoute une clarté et des détails bienvenus. L’écran de 1,2 pouces est également d’une taille raisonnable, vous fournissant les informations que vous souhaitez sans vous laisser submergé de données.

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

Ceux qui connaissent les produits Garmin savent que la société n’utilise pas d’écran AMOLED rétroéclairé, comme on en trouve sur de nombreuses autres montres intelligentes, afin d’atteindre une bonne luminosité. Au lieu de cela, une technique transflective de mémoire en pixels (MIP) est utilisée pour éclairer l’écran et les informations affichées à l’intérieur.

Avec le Forerunner 245, je n’ai jamais eu de problème pour voir les données sur l’écran, et c’était particulièrement vrai en plein soleil lorsque la fréquence cardiaque, les recommandations Garmin Coach et d’autres statistiques étaient toutes clairement visibles.

Un rétroéclairage qui peut être activé en appuyant sur un bouton est disponible pour les occasions où l’éclairage n’est pas idéal (encore une fois, pour économiser la batterie).

Performances de Forerunner 245

Parmi les nombreuses façons dont Garmin a amélioré le Forerunner 245 par rapport à son prédécesseur, il y a les fonctionnalités et les outils de suivi sportif qu’il propose. Ces fonctionnalités supplémentaires offrent aux clients un meilleur aperçu de leur historique d’entraînement et des statistiques plus précises.

Il s’agit d’une répétition des options de surveillance prédéfinies précédentes : jogging/trail/piste intérieure ; yoga; cardio; tapis roulant; cyclisme; aviron en salle; marche; elliptique; pas à pas ; statistiques de course détaillées, niveaux d’énergie, etc.

Vous pouvez sélectionner le suivi d’activités telles que la natation et les exercices de musculation qui ont été ajoutés au Forerunner 245. Cependant, vous pouvez toujours créer votre propre programme en utilisant l’option « autre » et ajouter un GPS ou d’autres technologies de surveillance si vous le souhaitez. Il s’agit d’un processus simple qui vous donne un contrôle total sur l’apparence et le fonctionnement de votre montre.

L’interface utilisateur repensée du Garmin Forerunner 245 était une autre fonctionnalité que j’ai trouvée très utile. Avec les mises à jour de Garmin, vous serez satisfait de cette nouvelle version du Garmin Forerunner 235 . Il est désormais plus simple d’analyser les données en déplacement grâce à une multitude de nouvelles fonctionnalités, notamment des symboles et des polices plus grands et une meilleure utilisation de la couleur.

Les widgets sont particulièrement utiles dans cette situation car ils décomposent de grandes quantités d’informations en parties plus petites et plus facilement consommables. Sur l’écran d’accueil, vous pouvez faire défiler rapidement une liste de statistiques critiques, telles que votre dernière activité quotidienne et vos pas ; la météo; capteur de fréquence cardiaque ; notifications intelligentes; paramètres de musique ; Le moniteur d’entraînement Advanced Dynamics et le calendrier, tous accessibles en touchant le bouton Haut.

Garmin a également inclus un oxymètre de pouls dans le FR 245, qui n’était auparavant disponible que sur des appareils haut de gamme comme le Forerunner 945 et le Fenix 6.

Il s’agit d’un capteur qui mesure le niveau de saturation en oxygène de votre sang. À haute altitude, la surveillance de votre saturation en oxygène peut vous aider à mieux comprendre comment votre corps fait face au volume d’exercice et au stress.

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

Comme son nom l’indique, cela se fait en appliquant une lumière sur la peau et en mesurant la quantité de lumière absorbée, ou SpO2. Dans la communauté de fitness en ligne Garmin Connect, vous pouvez en savoir plus sur les données de l’oxymètre de pouls, y compris les tendances sur plusieurs jours, en consultant le pourcentage de SpO2 sur le Forerunner 245.

Le Forerunner 245 a une autre fonction que le 235 n’avait pas, qui est la surveillance des niveaux de stress toute la journée. Firstbeat, une aide avancée aux entraînements, sert de rappel utile de la valeur de la relaxation, de la récupération et de la réduction du stress dans mes routines d’entraînement personnalisées quotidiennes.

La variabilité de la fréquence cardiaque est un terme utilisé pour décrire l’intervalle entre les battements cardiaques. Tout comme la ceinture pectorale, cette caractéristique vous permet d’évaluer rapidement combien de temps vous passez sous le stress d’entrainement et dans quelle mesure vous faites face aux effets de l’entraînement anaérobie.

Si votre corps ne gère pas bien le stress, cet outil vous le fera savoir et vous encouragera à vous détendre plutôt que de suivre une autre activité jusqu’à ce que vous puissiez vous reposer.

En ce qui concerne la surveillance de l’activité quotidienne, le 245 dispose de toutes les fonctionnalités d’entraînement avancées que vous attendez d’un Forerunner. Il a fallu moins d’une minute pour que le GPS soit identifié et connecté, afin que je puisse commencer ma course tout de suite.

Par rapport au 235, les fonctions de charge d’entraînement et les statistiques de course détaillées ont été totalement repensées, ce qui facilite le démarrage et l’analyse de votre exercice lorsqu’il est terminé. Vous pouvez avoir une meilleure idée de votre niveau de préparation pour votre prochaine activité en filtrant des informations telles que l’effet d’entraînement personnalisé, l’état d’entraînement actuel, l’oscillation verticale et la charge d’entraînement (historique d’exercice) des appareils Garmin haut de gamme.

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

L’oscillation verticale (ou rapport vertical) est le rebond que vous obtenez pendant que vous faites du jogging. Vous pouvez voir à quel point votre torse bouge verticalement à chaque pas. Le rapport vertical est une information utile pendant le temps de course pour savoir à quel point votre forme de course est stable.

De plus, un nouvel indicateur de performance mesure votre capacité à fonctionner en temps réel et vous donne un retour sur l’effet d’entraînement. Une première évaluation de votre état est basée sur vos données d’allure, de fréquence cardiaque et de variabilité de la fréquence cardiaque.

La distance, la vitesse et le rythme peuvent tous être suivis pendant le jogging, et il est simple de modifier les chiffres de la montre pendant que vous êtes en déplacement sans avoir à ouvrir l’application. Le Garmin Forerunner 245 a offert des statistiques utiles sur une brève sortie, Garmin Coach, et il l’a fait tout en répondant rapidement et intuitivement à tout moment.

Grâce à ces capteurs, Forerunner 245 m’a bien servi pour d’autres sports, comme le cyclisme et le yoga. Un bon exemple en est le capteur de fréquence cardiaque optique Garmin Elevate, qui mesure la fréquence cardiaque en éclairant le flux sanguin dans les veines et les capillaires.

L’altimètre barométrique de Garmin, vu dans la Forerunner 645 Music et la Vivoactive 3 Music, est absent de cette montre. Cependant, cela n’est nécessaire que si vous prévoyez de vous entraîner sur un terrain montagneux et que vous souhaitez utiliser les données d’altitude.

De plus, l’absence d’une option de surveillance multisports était un inconvénient mineur pour ces efforts d’entraînement anaérobie et de triathlon. Un appareil haut de gamme comme la série Forerunner 945 ou Fenix sera nécessaire pour cela.

Forerunner 245 version musicale

Si vous envisagez sérieusement d’utiliser votre montre-bracelet comme lecteur de musique pendant vos entraînements, vous voudrez peut-être investir dans le Garmin Forerunner 245 Music, plus cher.

Moyennant des frais supplémentaires, la smartwatch peut stocker jusqu’à « 500 chansons » (3,5 Go) de morceaux téléchargés localement. Malgré le fait que ce modèle inclut une connexion WiFi, vous devrez utiliser le programme informatique Garmin Express spécifique, vous assurer que vous branchez la montre-bracelet et télécharger manuellement la musique (ou les listes de lecture) sur son stockage de musique intégré.

Suivi du sommeil

L’un des aspects les plus décevants de cette montre est sa surveillance du sommeil. Le port du Forerunner 245 pendant la nuit permettra à Garmin d’enregistrer le sommeil total, le temps de récupération et les périodes de mouvement ou de sommeil réparateur.

Même si le temps passé à dormir semblait être correct pendant quatre nuits consécutives, il n’a pas réussi à détecter plusieurs événements importants. La troisième nuit de surveillance du sommeil, je me suis réveillé pour éteindre le téléviseur car la Sky Box se mettait à jour automatiquement. Il avait marqué cela comme un sommeil léger lorsque j’ai vérifié l’application Connect.

Il est possible que les montres Polar aient un meilleur système de surveillance du sommeil que Garmin, mais je n’ai vu aucune preuve à l’appui. Selon mes tests de la surveillance du sommeil du Polar Ignite, Garmin manque plusieurs des fonctionnalités les plus avancées de Dynamics que j’ai trouvées sur le Polar Ignite, telles que les totaux d’efficacité du sommeil et les interruptions de répétition enregistrées avec précision.

Avantages

  • Suivi de la condition physique et surveillance de la fréquence cardiaque très précis.
  • Longue durée de vie de la batterie.
  • Idéal pour les personnes actives.
  • Design élégant et intelligent.
  • Bracelets de montre remplaçables.
  • Fonctions d’urgence.

Inconvénients

  • Le prix. 
  • Pas d’altimètre barométrique ni de gyroscope.

Batterie du corps

Body Battery est une fonction Garmin qui estime les réserves d’énergie d’un utilisateur tout au long de la journée en combinant la variabilité de la fréquence cardiaque, le stress et l’activité. Utilisant une échelle de 1 à 100, il mesure l’énergie d’un individu.

Afin d’estimer votre niveau total de Body Battery, votre appareil analyse les données de votre fréquence cardiaque, de votre niveau de stress, de la qualité de votre sommeil et de votre activité physique. Un indicateur de type jauge de carburant qui indique la quantité d’énergie qu’il vous reste. Les personnes ayant une faible énergie de réserve ont un niveau de batterie corporelle de 0. Les personnes ayant une énergie de réserve moyenne, une énergie de réserve élevée et même une énergie de réserve ultra-élevée ont des batteries corporelles de 26 à 50.

Pour les activités qui demandent beaucoup d’énergie, un plus grand nombre est préférable. Le temps de conservation de l’énergie peut être indiqué par un nombre inférieur. Contrairement à d’autres mesures, « Body Battery » est un instantané à long terme des niveaux d’énergie d’un utilisateur.

Autres fonctionnalités à mentionner

La Forerunner 245 peut envoyer des alertes de votre smartphone à votre poignet comme les autres montres connectées. Un chronomètre, un réveil, des mesures de course cruciales, des mises à jour automatiques de l’heure d’été, la synchronisation du calendrier et des informations météorologiques sont tous inclus.

La Garmin Forerunner 245 est l’une des premières montres qui permet aux utilisatrices de surveiller leur cycle menstruel grâce à la fonction de suivi menstruel. Il vous montre les prévisions de règles et enregistre tous les symptômes, ce qui en fait un outil utile pour les femmes. Cependant, vous ne pourrez pas utiliser Garmin Pay à cet endroit.

L’inclusion de la fonctionnalité de détection d’incident, qui était absente du Forerunner 235, est ma fonctionnalité ajoutée préférée. Ainsi, si vous détruisez votre vélo, la montre enverra des notifications de smartphone à quelqu’un. Il y a aussi l’assistance à la sécurité/au suivi, qui vous permet d’envoyer une alerte d’assistance à vos amis ou à votre famille en appuyant simplement sur un bouton.

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

Autonomie de la batterie du Forerunner 245

Garmin indique que la Forerunner 245 peut être utilisée en continu pendant sept jours en mode smartwatch. Alors que l’autonomie totale de la batterie du 245 a diminué, l’autonomie de la batterie de son GPS est passée de 11 heures à 24 heures, ce qui est un gain majeur.

Il nous a fallu quatre jours d’utilisation constante avec la montre pour épuiser la batterie de 47 %, ce qui est mieux que les sept jours d’utilisation continue de Garmin. J’ai également suivi cinq ou six activités sportives différentes (avec GPS uniquement pour un couple).

Si vous êtes curieux, le Garmin Forerunner 245 peut être rechargé à partir d’une batterie déchargée en moins d’une heure.

Dernières pensées

Le Forerunner 245 de Garmin est un excellent outil de course avec Running Dynamics Pod, même s’il manque certaines des fonctionnalités les plus chères de l’entreprise.

En d’autres termes, si vous ne vous souciez pas du Running Dynamics Pod plus avancé fourni par les nouveaux modèles comme le Forerunner 945 de Garmin, cet appareil léger peut être une meilleure option pour vous. Les coureurs de tous niveaux peuvent certainement bénéficier des informations qu’il fournit.

De nombreuses personnes souhaitent mesurer leur état de santé général de manière plus complète qu’un simple tracker de fitness ne peut le faire. Alors, son excellente précision de suivi de la condition physique est une excellente option pour vous.

Vous pourriez aussi aimer

CityRyde.com does not provide medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Any information published on this website or by this brand is not intended as a substitute for medical advice, and you should not take any action before consulting with a healthcare professional.

CityRyde is founded on the principle of honest, objective, reviews. Our Editorial Team tests thousands of products each year using thoughtful test plans. And, to assure complete independence, we buy all the products we test ourselves, so we can keep using them long after the review. We do not accept payments or gifts from brands and vendors, and strive to provide unbiased, independent advice. No handpicked products sent by manufacturers. NO sponsors. NO Ads. Just real, honest, side-by-side testing and comparison.**As an Amazon associates, I earn from qualifying purchases**You may read the full disclosure Here in your Language.

Garmin Forerunner 245 Review – Tried and Tested

As soon as Garmin unveiled the Vivoactive 3 almost two years ago, I wondered how precisely they would replace the Forerunner 235. The Vivoactive 3 was better in terms of tracking features, even though the FR 235 featured a higher number of buttons than the Vivoactive 3.

As a result, the Forerunner 235's mainstream, bulky look vanished by the time it was released. Is Garmin's answer to the next edition the same? Nope, they decided to make it look simpler and work faster for smarter training decisions.

Garmin Forerunner 245 is basically a Forerunner 235 with a few more features from the Fenix 5 thrown in. Don't forget the Garmin Forerunner 245 Music version.

The best part is that its body now lasts twice as long as the previous model when GPS is turned on. Is the small size of this smartwatch a trade-off for its many features? Let us investigate this further.

Forerunner 245 Design, Display, and Comfortability

People will not purchase Garmin Forerunner 245 Music as an extension of their smartphone or as a fashion accessory, because it was not created for those purposes.

When it comes to accurate fitness tracking, the Garmin Forerunner 245 is an excellent choice for folks who exercise regularly but aren't aiming to be the next Paula Radcliffe.

As a consequence, it isn't extremely noticeable on the wrist, but its plastic construction also makes it seem and feel cheap. It weighs only 38.5g and has a diameter of 30.4mm, which is smaller than the company's Fenix line.

As a result of its slim profile and compatible heart rate strap, the Forerunner 245 is an absolute delight to wear throughout any kind of physical activity. It doesn't even feel like you're wearing it at all.

Our Independent Rating

Wearing a wristwatch during a yoga session is, in my opinion, is the ultimate measure of its comfort level. You know your gadget is comfortable if you can comfortably arm balance and back bend your way through one hour of vinyasa without the need to take it off.

A big thumbs up for the Forerunner 245's comfort, which I tested through two yoga sessions and while sleeping four nights in a row with it on.

Perhaps because it is smaller and lighter overall, the Garmin Forerunner 245 seems to be thinner than its predecessor. This lightweight device has shrunk from a 45mm casing to a 42.3mm case, a difference that only Forerunner 235 users would notice.

It's a decent size for monitoring your workout progress and running form. It still has the same Garmin physical button layout.

The lack of a touch screen in this area is deliberate. Not only does it perform better in water, but it also conserves battery life, which is critical for many strenuous activities. If you're a newbie to Garmin devices, this button layout will take some time to get accustomed to, but it will all be clear in no time at all.

Garmin has improved the Forerunner 245's screen resolution from the Forerunner 235's 215 x 180 resolution to a 240 x 240 resolution, which adds welcome clarity and detail. The 1.2-inch screen is also a reasonable size, providing you with the information you want without overwhelming you with data.

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray
Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

Those acquainted with Garmin products know that the company doesn't use a backlit AMOLED screen, as found on many other smartwatches, in order to attain brightness. Instead, a transflective memory-in-pixel (MIP) technique is used to illuminate the screen and the information shown within.

With the Forerunner 245, I never had a problem seeing the data on the screen, and this was particularly true in direct sunlight when the comprehensive health stats, heart rate, Garmin Coach recommendations, and elevation were all clearly visible.

A backlight that can be activated by pressing a button is available for those occasions when the lighting is less than ideal (again, to save on battery life).

Forerunner 245 Performance

Among the many ways Garmin has improved the Forerunner 245 over its predecessor is the sports-tracking features and tools it offers. Those added features provide customers more insight into their training history and more precise statistics; it is an accurate fitness tracking device.

This is a repeat of previous preset monitoring options: jog/trail/indoor track; yoga; cardio; treadmill; cycling; indoor rowing; walking; elliptical; stepper; detailed running stats, energy levels, and so on.

You may select activities tracking like swimming and strength exercise which have been added to the Forerunner 245. However, you can still construct your own program using the "other" option and add GPS or other monitoring technologies if you like. This is a simple process that gives you complete control over how your watch looks and functions.

The redesigned user interface on the Garmin Forerunner 245 was another feature that I found to be quite useful. With Garmin's upgrades, you'll be pleased with this new version of the Garmin Forerunner 235. It's now simpler to analyze data on the move thanks to a slew of new features, including bigger symbols and fonts, and better use of color.

Widgets are especially useful in this situation since they break down large amounts of information into smaller, more easily consumable portions. On the home screen, you may quickly scroll through a list of critical statistics, such as your latest daily activity and steps; the weather; heart rate sensor; smart notifications; music settings; Advanced Dynamics training monitor and the calendar, all of which can be accessed by touching the Up button.

Garmin also included a pulse oximeter in the 245, which was previously only available on high-end devices like the Forerunner 945 and Fenix 6.

This is a sensor that measures your blood's oxygen saturation level. At high elevations, monitoring your oxygen saturation might help you better understand how your body is coping with exercise volume and stress.

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

As the name suggests, this is done by shining light into the skin and measuring the amount of light that is absorbed, or SpO2. In the Garmin Connect online fitness community, you can learn more about this pulse oximeter data, including trends over many days, by looking at the SpO2 percentage on the Forerunner 245.

The Forerunner 245 has another function that the 235 didn't have, which is all-day stress levels monitoring. Firstbeat, an advanced workouts assistance, serves as a helpful reminder of the value of relaxation, recuperation, and stress reduction in my daily custom workouts routines.

Heart rate variability is a term used to describe the interval between heartbeats. Just like chest strap does, this characteristic lets you rapidly evaluate how much of your time is spent under stress and how well you are coping with anaerobic training effects.

If your body isn't processing stress well, this tool will let you know, and it will encourage you to relax rather than track another activity until you can get your bearings again.

When it comes to daily activity monitoring, the 245 has all the advanced training features you'd expect from a Forerunner. It took less than a minute for the GPS to be discovered and linked, so I could get started on my run right away.

In comparison to the 235, the training load features and detailed running stats have been totally redesigned, making it easier to get started and analyze your exercise when it's over. You may get a better idea of how well-prepared you should be for your next activity by filtering out information like custom workouts effect, current training status, vertical oscillation, and training load (exercise history) from higher-end Garmin devices.

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

Vertical oscillation (or vertical ratio) is the bounce you get while you're jogging. You can see how much your torso moves vertically with each step. Vertical ratio is useful information during race time to know how stable your running form is.

In addition, a new performance indicators measure your capacity to operate in real time and give you training effect feedback. A first assessment of your condition is based on your pace, heart rate, and heart rate variability data.

Distance, speed, and pace can all be tracked while jogging, and it's simple to make changes to the watch's numbers while you're out and about without having to open the app. The Garmin Forerunner 245 offered some helpful statistics on a brief outing, Garmin Coach, and it did so while responding promptly and intuitively at all times.

Other sports, like cycling and yoga, also performed well and seemed accurate due to the sensors on the Forerunner 245, which have been upgraded in this model. A good example of this is the Garmin Elevate optical heart rate sensor, which measures heart rate by illuminating blood flow in veins and capillaries.

Garmin's barometric altimeter, seen in the Forerunner 645 Music and Vivoactive 3 Music, is missing from this watch. However, this is only necessary if you plan to exercise in mountainous terrain and want to make use of elevation data.

Additionally, the absence of a multi-sports monitoring option was a minor letdown for those anaerobic training and triathlon efforts. A higher-end device like the Forerunner 945 or Fenix series will be necessary for this.

Forerunner 245 Music Version

If you're serious about using your wristwatch as a music player during your workouts, you may want to invest in the more expensive Garmin Forerunner 245 Music.

For an additional fee, the smartwatch may store up to "500 songs" (3.5 GB) of locally downloaded tunes. Despite the fact that this model includes WiFi connection, you'll need to utilize the specific Garmin Express computer program, make sure that you are in the optimal range, plug up the wristwatch, and manually download the music (or playlists) to its onboard music storage.

Sleep Tracking

One of the most disappointing aspects of this watch is its sleep monitoring. Wearing the Forerunner 245 during the night will allow Garmin to record total sleep, recovery time, and periods of movement or restful sleep.

Even while the quantity of time logged as sleeping looked to be correct for four nights in a row, it failed to pick up several important occurrences. On the third night of sleep monitoring, I woke up to turn off the TV since the Sky box was updating itself automatically. It had marked this as light sleep when I checked the Connect app.

It's possible that Polar watches have a better sleep monitoring system than Garmin, but I haven't seen any evidence to support this. According to my testing of the Polar Ignite's sleep monitoring, Garmin misses several of the more Advanced Dynamics features I found on the Polar Ignite, such as sleep efficiency totals and precisely recorded snooze interruptions.

Pros

  • Highly accurate fitness tracking and heart rate monitoring.
  • Long battery life.
  • Great for active people.
  • Sleek and smart design.
  • Replaceable Watch bands.
  • Emergency features.

Cons

  • The price.
  • No barometric altimeter or gyroscope.

Body Battery

Body Battery is a Garmin feature that estimates a user's energy reserves throughout the day by combining heart rate variability, stress, and activity. Using a scale of 1 to 100, it measures an individual's energy.

In order to estimate your total Body Battery level, your device analyzes data from your heart rate, level of stress, sleep quality, and exercise. A fuel gauge-style indicator that shows how much energy you have left. People with low reserve energy have a body battery level of 0. People with medium reserve energy, high reserve energy, and even ultra-high reserve energy have bodies with body batteries of 26–50.

For activities that require a lot of energy, a larger number is better. Time to conserve energy may be indicated by a lower number. In contrast to other metrics, "Body Battery" is a long-term snapshot of a user's energy levels.

Other Features Worth Mentioning

The Forerunner 245 can deliver alerts from your smartphone to your wrist like other current smartwatches. A stopwatch, an alarm clock, crucial running metrics, automatic daylight saving updates, calendar sync, and weather information are all included.

The Garmin Forerunner 245 is one of the first watches that allows female users to monitor their menstrual cycle with Menstrual Tracking feature. It shows you period forecasts, and register any symptoms, making it a useful tool for women. However, you won't be able to use Garmin Pay at this location.

The inclusion of incident detection feature, which was absent from the Forerunner 235, is my favorite added feature. So, if you wreck your bike, the watch will send smartphone notifications to someone. There's also Safety/Tracking Assistance, which allows you to send an assistance alert to friends or family at the push of a button.

Garmin Forerunner 245, GPS Running Smartwatch with Advanced Dynamics, Slate Gray

Forerunner 245 Battery Life

Garmin says that the Forerunner 245 can be used continuously for seven days in smartwatch mode. While the 245's total battery life has decreased, its GPS battery life has grown from 11 hours to 24 hours, which is a major gain.

It took us four days of constant usage with the watch to deplete the battery by 47 percent, which is better than Garmin's stated seven days of continuous use. I also tracked five or six different sorts of sports activities (with GPS only for a couple).

If you're curious, the Garmin Forerunner 245 can be charged from a dead battery in less than an hour.

Final Thoughts

Garmin's Forerunner 245 is an excellent running tool with Running Dynamics Pod, even if it lacks some of the bells and whistles of the company's more expensive models.

To put it another way, if you don't care about the more advanced Running Dynamics Pod given by newer models like Garmin's Forerunner 945, this lightweight device may be a better option for you. Runners of all skill levels may certainly benefit from the information it provides.

There are many people who want to measure their overall health in a more comprehensive way than a simple fitness tracker can provide. Then, its excellent fitness tracking accuracy a great option for you.


You might also like

**As an Amazon associates, I earn from qualifying purchases**You may read the full disclosure Here in your Language.