Italy’s Serie A: Basic stuff to know

Serie A is Italy’s top professional football league, consisting of 20 teams that compete annually to win the championship title. Officially known as Serie A TIM for sponsorship reasons, this iconic competition has had an illustrious history since 1898 – making it one of the oldest leagues worldwide.

The Italian league has produced some of the world’s greatest footballers, such as Diego Maradona, Alessandro Del Piero, Francesco Totti, and Paolo Maldini. Additionally, it produced some of the world’s most successful clubs, like Juventus AC Milan and Inter Milan – each winning multiple European championships.

The Serie A season typically lasts from August to May, with each team playing 38 games in total. At the end of it all, whichever team has accrued more points is crowned champion, while those on the bottom are relegated to Serie B – Italy’s second tier of football.

One of the unique characteristics of the Serie A league is its passionate fans. Italian football supporters are renowned for their enthusiasm, and stadiums often fill with enthusiastic spectators creating a vibrant and colorful atmosphere. Fans also show their support for their respective teams by traveling across Italy to watch them compete.

Over the years, the league has undergone some structural modifications, one such example being the introduction of a playoff system in the 2000s. However, these were eventually abolished in 2004, leaving us with our current format of one round-robin tournament.

The Serie A league has had its fair share of controversial incidents, such as match-fixing allegations in the 2000s. As a result, Calciopoli, or Calciopoli, led to several teams being penalized and Juventus losing its 2005 and 2006 titles.

Recently, the Serie A league has experienced a resurgence, with several teams investing heavily in their squads to challenge Juventus’ dominance. As a result, the 2021/22 season witnessed an exciting title race between AC Milan, Inter Milan, and Juventus; ultimately, Inter Milan emerged victorious for the first time in over a decade.

The league is renowned for its tactical prowess, with Italian managers being particularly well-known for their tactical insight. As a result, it has produced some of the greatest managers in football history, such as Carlo Ancelotti, Fabio Capello, and Arrigo Sacchi.

In recent years, the Serie A league adopted technology with the introduction of VAR (Video Assistant Referee) in 2019. This has helped reduce controversial decisions and improved game fairness overall.

3 Legendary Managers in Serie A History

Football has produced many legendary managers, but none compare to Carlo Ancelotti, Fabio Capello, and Arrigo Sacchi’s successes in Serie A. Each has left its mark on the Italian football league and is widely regarded as some of the greatest coaches ever.

Carlo Ancelotti

Carlo Ancelotti is one of football’s most successful managers. Throughout his tenure in Serie A, he managed three different clubs: Parma, Juventus, and AC Milan – winning four Serie A titles, one Coppa Italia trophy, and two UEFA Champions League trophies with each club – making him the only manager to have won this prestigious tournament three times: twice with AC Milan and once with Real Madrid.

Ancelotti is renowned for his calm and collected leadership style, which has allowed him to build successful teams. Moreover, as an accomplished man-manager, he has managed to elicit the best performances out of some of football’s world-class players, such as Cristiano Ronaldo, Kaka, Andrea Pirlo, and Clarence Seedorf.

Ancelotti has achieved great success in Italy, as well as managing clubs in France, Germany, Spain, and England. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest managers in football history and currently serves as head coach of Real Madrid.

Fabio Capello

Fabio Capello is another legendary manager who made an impact in Serie A. While managing AC Milan, Roma, and Juventus, he won seven Serie A titles, four Coppa Italia trophies, and a UEFA Champions League crown with these clubs.

Capello is renowned for his tactical acumen and ability to assemble cohesive teams. As an expert in defensive football, he has constructed some of football’s most reliable defenses. Furthermore, Capello possesses the rare gift of talent detection, which he has demonstrated with players like Francesco Totti, Daniele De Rossi, and Alessandro Nesta.

In addition to his success in Italy, Capello has managed clubs in Spain, England, and Russia. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest managers in football history and is currently retired from coaching.

Arrigo Sacchi

Arrigo Sacchi is widely regarded as one of the greatest managers in football history. During his tenure with AC Milan, he led them to two consecutive UEFA Champions League titles in 1989 and 1990.

Sacchi is renowned for his tactical acumen and ability to create high-pressing teams that play with an attacking style. Additionally, he exhibits great attention to detail as well as getting the best out of his players through intense training and preparation.

Sacchi’s influence in football extends far beyond his success on the pitch. His groundbreaking ideas about tactics and training methods have inspired generations of managers and players, leaving a legacy that still resonates today in the game.


Finally, Serie A is a league with an illustrious history and tradition that has produced some of the world’s greatest footballers, successful clubs, and legendary managers. Despite facing scandals such as the Calciopoli affair, the league has managed to recover and enjoy a resurgence in recent years. Thanks to technology like VAR, which helps ensure fairness throughout games, they continue to progress toward improving fairness in competition. Italian football fans are renowned for their passion and for creating a vibrant atmosphere in the stadiums. The league’s success has been due to its tactical prowess, with Italian managers renowned for their tactical awareness. Managers such as Carlo Ancelotti, Fabio Capello, and Arrigo Sacchi have cemented Serie A’s place as one of football’s premier competitions. It remains highly competitive, however, and its influence continues to spread worldwide.


How many teams compete in Serie A?

There are 20 teams that compete in Serie A each season.

How is the winner of Serie A determined?

The team with the most points at the end of the season is crowned the Serie A champion.

What happens to the bottom three teams in Serie A?

The bottom three teams in Serie A are relegated to Serie B, the second tier of Italian football.

What is the schedule for Serie A?

The Serie A season typically runs from August to May, with each team playing 38 games in total.

Who are some of the most successful clubs in Serie A history?

Juventus, AC Milan, and Inter Milan are some of the most successful clubs in Serie A history.

What is the role of VAR in Serie A?

VAR, or Video Assistant Referee, is used in Serie A to review and correct decisions made by the on-field officials, improving the overall fairness of the game.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *